Home Brand Image & Awards AFARN Summit: A Day of honour and Awards for Aviators, Reporters, others

AFARN Summit: A Day of honour and Awards for Aviators, Reporters, others

L-R Captain Azeez, Captain Dele Ore giving a speech after receiving his awards of honour at the AFARN summit/award in Lagos

It was a day of honour and awards as the Association of Foreign Airlines and Representatives of Nigeria, AFARN recognized and appreciated veteran aviation experts, reporters and others in the aviation sector for their sacrifices and contributions in promoting a safe, secured air travel in the country.

The event which witnessed in attendance airline operators both local and international,ground handling companies, oil marketers, catering providers, cabin executives, pilots, hoteliers, tourism companies,clearing agents, the media among others was electrified with music, jokes, dances and raffle draws.
AFARN led by its President Mr. Kingsley Nwokoma created a Hall of Frame where 7 notable aviators where inducted.

Among them was Captain Dele Ore, Director, Flight Operations in the defunct Nigeria Airways, Dr. Harold Demuren, Former Director General, NCAA,Captain Chinyere Kalu, Former Rector, Nigeria College of Aviation Technology, NCAT Zaria, Cecilia Aina Akagbue, First female cabin crew, Captain Bob Hayes, Captain Rufus Orimoloyo and Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Executive Vice-Chairman  Sifax Group and Chairman Skyway Aviation Handling Company, SAHCOL.

Another sets of awards was for those that have demonstrated uncommon quality in their line of duties. They are Charity Bassey a staff of Lakewood Development Company, who discovered and returned S6,000 forgotten in the toilet by a passenger, Miss Josephine Agwu, previously a staff of Patolvilki, now staff of FAAN who discovered and returned $28,000 at the airport and Otafo Stanley of NAHCO aviance PLC who found and returned an I- phone.
These sets of awardees were given certificates of integrity and a token of appreciation by AFARN.

The media was not left out in the celebration as 3 reporters from different media houses namely, TV, radio and print also won awards for their role in the reportage of the sector.
Bukky Joe Oketunmbi of Channels Television is Best Television reporter of the year, Nosa Osula-Aituamen of Radio Nigeria is Best Radio reporter of the year, Chinedu Eze is Best print reporter of the year and Joy Enosa Ogbebo is Best aviation blogger of the year.

From second left, Rep of chinedu Eze This Day, Bukky Oketumbi, Channels TV, Nosa Aituamen, Radio Nigeria and Joy Ogbebo, MamaJ Blog in a group Photograph after receiving their awards

Other awards include the Most Efficient Ground Handling Company of year clinched y Sifax SAHCOL, NAHCO, is the Most Innovative Ground Handling Company of the year, Dana Air, Best Customer Friendly Domestic Airline of the year, AVSATEL, the Best Aviation Communication Company of the year, Confidence Cargo Limited, the Best Cargo Clearing Agent of the year, Sheraton Lagos Hotel, the Most Outstanding Crew Hotel in Nigeria, Merchant Express, the Best General Sales Agent, GSA of the year, Fidelity Bank, the Most Aviation Friendly and Innovative Bank of the year, White House, the Best Aviation Tourism Organization in Nigeria and Cleanserve, Customer Delight Jet-A1 Company of the year.

AFARN as part of their corporate so ail responsibility presented cheques of a N100,000 ( hundred thousand Naira) each to the Mkar orphanage, Gboko, Benue state and the SOS children’s Village, Isolo, Lagos state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here