Home Awards Two winners emerge at NTEC 2023 Essay Competition, get cash prizes, tickets...

Two winners emerge at NTEC 2023 Essay Competition, get cash prizes, tickets from SAA, AWA


Two winners have emerged at the 12th National Travel Essay Competition (NTEC 2023) in the tertiary institutions and secondary schools categories of the contest.

The winners are; Miss Merciful Nwafor of the University of Nigeria Nsuka (UNN) Enugu Campus and Miss Oyedeji Moyinoluwa of Princeton College, Surulere, Lagos.  

The topics of the essay competition are “Implications and Threats of Unruly Passengers To Safe And Secure Air Travel,” for the Secondary Schools; and “Curbing The Trafficking Of Illicit Drugs In Nigeria,” for Tertiary Institutions.

According to the founder and Coordinator of the NTEC 2023, Mr. Ewos Iroro in a statement, both winners emerged following a robust session of oral defense of their respective essays before a select group of Independent Assessors at the Grand Finale of NTEC 2023 which held on May 27, 2023 at the Interguide Academy, Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos.

“The Panel was chaired by the Managing Director of Skyway Aviation Handling Company (SAHCO) Plc, Mr. Basil Agboarumi. He was joined by Prof. Effiom Uku of Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET); Dr. Ifeanyi Ogochukwu, MD, Aviation Africa Plate-Forme and Mrs. Victoria Adegbe, MD, Aviatrix Hub. Others are First Officer Paul Adebayo of United Nigeria Airlines; Mrs. Christie Oseghale, GM, Safety, SAHCO; and Mr. Godbless Ozegbe formerly of Nigeria Airways”.

Mr. Iroro said, “The topics for this year’s competition were carefully chosen following recent developments and repeat occurrences in the sector regarding incidences of unruly passengers and increased levels in trafficking of illicit drugs through the airports which pose serious safety and security threats to the aviation sector and the nation at large with untold implications.

The UNN winner, Merciful Nwafor went home with a cash prize of N150,000 and a free ticket to South Africa sponsored by South African Airways (SAA). 

In the same vein, Oyedeji Moyinoluwa was rewarded with a cash prize of N100,000 and a free ticket for herself and a parent to Accra, Ghana sponsored by Africa World Airlines (AWA).

Oshimade Abisola of Abiolu College, Igando, Lagos came second with a cash prize of N60,000 while Ademigbaji Favour of Sunshine Diamond College, Ibadan emerged third with a cash prize of N40,000 in the secondary schools category.

Similarly, in the tertiary institutions category, Miss Daikpor Anthonia took 2nd place with a cash prize of N100,000 closely followed in 3rd place by Olatunji Deborah with a cash prize of N50,000. Both students were of the University of Lagos.  

All the winners were also showered with various gift items courtesy of Peak Milk. Participants and guests at the event were equally all treated to a refreshingly cold beverage of Peak milk as the events of the day unfolded.

Other sponsors of the epoch-making event include SAHCO, Sabre West Africa, Nigerian Safety Investigation Bureau (NSIB), Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA), Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) and OCP International.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here