Home Meteorology NiMet DG Prof Matazu re-eleted into Executive Council of WMO

NiMet DG Prof Matazu re-eleted into Executive Council of WMO


The Director General, Nigerian Meteorological Agency NiMet, Prof. Mansur Bako Matazu has been re- elected into the Executive Council of the World Meteorological Organisation, WMO.

Prof. Matazu, who is Nigeria’s Permanent Representative to the WMO has been a Member of the Executive Council since his assumption of office, was recognized for his dedication and commitment to the advancement of the science of meteorology and to humanity, and so was unanimously elected to represent Regional Association I (Africa) of WMO alongside Kenya, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Eswatini, South Africa, Egypt, Burkina Faso and Cote d’Ivoire.

Prof. Matazu’s election, which is for a period of four years, was held during the 19th session of the WMO congress.

The World Meteorological Congress, is the highest decision-making body of the World Meteorological Organization, comprising 193 Members States and Territories referred to as Members.

During the congress, members  go through various technical documents and take decisions to make our land, atmosphere, and water safe, including the Early Warning for All Initiative of the United Nations, which WMO leads.

As it is the tradition of the organization to elect a new Secretary General at the ongoing Congress. 

After going through several rounds of ballots, Argentina emerged as the President of the organization replacing Germany whose tenure elapses after the Congress. 

In similar vein, United Arab Emirates, Ivory Coast, Ireland and India emerged as the First, Second and Third Vice Presidents respectively.

Other Members so elected to the Executive Council representing the remaining 5 Regional Associations of the WMO are China, Saudi Arabia, Japan, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, India, Peru, Guyana, Brazil, Argentina, Canada, United States of America, British Caribbean, Curacao & St. Maarten.

Others are; Jamaica, Australia, Singapore, Indonesia, Tonga, United Kingdom, Germany, Switzerland, Romania, Czech Republic, Norway, Italy, Turkey, and France.

The next financial year of the WMO begins from January 2024 when the tenure of the current WMO Secretary General would have expired.