NANTA President, Akporiaye heads FTAN tourism Acts review committee


..Dr Alex Nwuba, Prof. Babalola, others to serve as members 

A 9- Man Committee has been inaugurated to study and review Nigerian Tourism Development Authority Act of 2022 and the National Institute of Tourism Establishment, Act, recently assented to as tourism laws by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Committee is to be headed by the President, National Association of Nigeria Travel Agencies, NANTA, Mrs Susan Akporiaye.

Other members of the committee are Mrs Justina Ovat, Professor Wasiu Babalola, Dr Belinda Nwosu, Mr Abiodun Odusanwo, Dr Kabir Ali, Alex Nwuba (Phd), Mr Samson Aturu and Prince Ayo Arokoyo.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja, last week, President, Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria, FTAN Nkereweum Onung, disclosed that it imperative and desirable for the Federation to put together tested industry leaders, technocrats and experts to look at the laws. 

They are to look at how the laws affect the well-being,  operations, sustainability and development of tourism and related enterprises in Nigeria. 

The committee’s mandate is to critically study the laws and its benefits,  established opportunities created for the private sector, identify areas of growth through collaboration and partnership with government.

Other areas are, flag areas of conflict between government and private sector in the implementation of the laws, factor the roles of FTAN and other government agencies on the Council and Board of the two focal tourism agencies and; advise the federation on its position, advocacy,  policies and infrastructure ecosystem needed to enhance the federation’s role in promoting tourism in Nigeria. 

The committee is expected to turn in its reports in three weeks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here