Flight resumption: NCAA lists 5 approved airports for flights, foreign airlines still not allowed

Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano

The Director General, Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority, NCAA, Captain Musa Nuhu says only 5 airports will be allowed to open for operations on the 21st of June, 2020.

This is coming on the heels of the announcement by the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 on the easing of and restart of the second phase of the COVID-19 lockdown and restart of flights on the 21st June.

In a letter to accountable Managers of all domestic and foreign airlines in the country dated 1st June, 2020 with ref NCAA/DG/AIR/11/16/121, Captain Nuhu listed 5 airports to be opened to with the gradual start of Operations to include, “Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Lagos, Nnamdi Azikiwe International airport, Abuja, the Omagwa International airport, Port-Harcourt Mallam Aminu Kano international airport, Kano and the Sam Mbakwe airport, Owerri.”

According to the letter, the NCAA DG says, “other airports will be added gradually after a review and assessment.”

He states that all flights to any of the airports outside the 5 approved  to open shall comply with the existing COVID-19 protocols for approvals.

The NCAA boss in the letter emphasizes that the closure of Nigerian airports to international flights will continue until a date of resumption is announced.

The letter also states that Emergency and essential flights are exempted from the restriction and shall comply with the existing COVID-19 protocols for approvals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here